Huskies defeat host Mooseheads to capture 1st Memorial Cup title

The Rouyn-Noranda Huskies scored four unanswered goals, rallying to beat the host Halifax Mooseheads 4-2 in the championship final to claim the Memorial Cup for the first time on Sunday night.

Felix Bibeau, Joel Teasdale, Peter Abbandonato, and Vincent Marleau tallied for the Huskies.

Teasdale, a Montreal Canadiens prospect, was named tournament MVP.

Halifax's Samuel Asselin opened the scoring in the final minute of the first period, and Raphael Lavoie added another goal for the Mooseheads early in the second frame. However, after that Halifax wasn't able to respond to the Huskies.

Rouyn-Noranda also reached the final of the 2016 tournament, but the team lost that championship game to the London Knights.

Copyright © 2019 Score Media Ventures Inc. All rights reserved. Certain content reproduced under license.

Read more at NHL | theScore >>>

Leave a Reply